Feedback  |  Contact Us

Related Links

Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Minutes for February 13, 2008

PDF Version

The Executive Committee of the Litigation Section met on Wednesday, February 13, 2008, at 8:00 a.m. at the Utah Law & Justice Center in Salt Lake City.

Executive Committee members present or participating by telephone were:

  • Sammi Anderson
  • George Burbidge
  • Ryan Frazier
  • Jonathan Hafen
  • Ryan Harris
  • Wayne Klein
  • Patrick Tanner

Executive Committee members excused were:

  • Lee Curtis
  • Elaina Maragakis
  • R. Willis Orton
  • Stephen Owens
  • Bryan Pattison
  • Isaac Paxman
  • Michael Petrogeorge
  • Tish Toombs (ex officio law school rep for U of U)

1. Sammi Anderson is conducting the Committee meeting at the request of Mike Petrogeorge in his absence.

2. Minutes. The minutes of the January 2008 meeting were reviewed and unanimously approved.

3. Budget Report. Sammi Anderson reported that Mike Petrogeorge and Dan Steele met with Jeff Einfeldt. The bar is upgrading to a QuickBooks-type program that should allow the Section to have more detailed information along the lines of what the Committee has requested. A financial report was tabled because Dan Steele was absent.

4. Annual Convention. Sammi Anderson reported that the Section’s portion of the Annual Convention is shaping up nicely. She said that two keynote speakers are being considered: Scott Rosen and Steve Woznick. She reported that Steve Woznick is the primary candidate and should draw a lot of “general” interest. She reported that Mr. Woznick has agreed to reduce his honorarium from $65,000 to $12,000. She added that the Cyberlaw and IP Sections have agreed to put up $2,200. She also reported that the Bar will cover travel expenses. The Committee voted to contribute $5,000 toward the honorarium so long as Dan Steele confirms that the Section has sufficient funds in light of other obligations and Mike Petrogeorge confirms that the Section is not contributing toward the Essentials of Trial CLE to be put on by Frank Carney.

5. March 2008 Quarterly Luncheon. Jon Hafen reported that the March Quarterly Luncheon is in good shape. He reported that the topic is state court electronic filing and that the subject is something that anyone who litigates will need to understand.

6. Fall Forum. The bar has requested that the Committee send a representative to the Fall Forum Committee. Jon Hafen volunteered to be the Committee’s representative. Various ideas for breakout topics were discussed, including how to retain clients and rainmaking.

7. Law Day Letter. The Committee approved a $500 donation to be contributed toward a Law Day advertisement.

8. Supporting State Court Judges. The Committee discussed the possibility of arranging to have Committee members meet with Chief Justice Durham to determine how the Committee can best support the judiciary from the perspective of the judiciary.

7. BYU Scholarship. Although absent, Isaac Paxman sent an email to report on the BYU Scholarship, which was read to the Committee. Isaac reported that he has the names of the award recipients and has ordered the trophies. BYU is aware that Isaac will be attending the awards ceremony on behalf of the Committee. The ceremony is on March 14, 2008.

8. Bench Books. Ryan Harris reported that Judge Mortensen will be upon the website on 4th and that Judge Laycock has been in email contact with Ryan.

9. Section Website. Sammi Anderson reported that she and Dan are going to look for a third party develop and redesign the website.

10. Areas Outside of the Wasatch Front. The Committee wants to ensure that it is providing services to all of its members, including those that are not on the Wasatch Front. The Committee discussed ways to penetrate areas outside the Wasatch Front. The Committee determined that it would attempt to contact individuals in areas to participate on the Committee. Jon Hafen will speak to some attorneys in the Cache Valley to determined whether they are interested in participating on the Committee.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 8:50 a.m. The next meeting will be held on March 12, 2008.

Dated this ___ day of March, 2008.

For the Executive Committee

Ryan B. Frazier